- What the RRT-NPS Credential Actually Is
- Who Issues It and What You Need First
- Exam Format: 170 Questions, Four Hours, Testing Center Only
- The Two Exam Domains and Their Item Allocations
- Where the Points Concentrate: Ventilation and Oxygenation
- Fees, Discounts, and Retake Rules
- Pass Rates in Context
- Careers, Employers, and the NPS vs. ACCS Question
- Keeping the Credential: Five-Year Maintenance
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Blueprint
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The RRT-NPS is earned through the NBRC Neonatal/Pediatric Specialty Examination, and you must already hold the RRT credential.
- The exam has 170 questions (150 scored, 20 pretest) in four hours, delivered only at PSI testing centers.
- Domain 1 carries 80 scored items and Domain 2 carries 70; 30 of Domain 2's items cover ventilation and oxygenation.
- The NBRC reported a 63.4% new-candidate pass rate in 2025, versus 40.4% for repeat candidates.
What the RRT-NPS Credential Actually Is
The RRT-NPS designation signals that a registered respiratory therapist has also passed the National Board for Respiratory Care's Neonatal/Pediatric Specialty Examination (NPS). It is a respiratory care specialty credential. It is not a nurse practitioner certification, it is not the entry-level RRT exam, and it is not the Adult Critical Care Specialty (ACCS) exam. The acronym gets reused across other fields, so when you search for study material, add qualifiers such as "NBRC," "respiratory," and "neonatal pediatric" to avoid landing on unrelated content.
If you are still orienting yourself, the explainers on what the RRT-NPS is and what RRT-NPS stands for cover the terminology. This article focuses on the certification itself: how it is earned, what the exam tests, what it costs, and how it fits into a respiratory therapy career.
Who Issues It and What You Need First
The NBRC issues the credential. The only prerequisite in its admission policy is that you hold the NBRC RRT credential. The policy does not specify a minimum period of NICU employment, a separate training-hour requirement, or reference letters. That matters for newly credentialed RRTs: eligibility is a matter of credential status, not logged bedside hours. Whether you are ready is a separate question, and one the exam difficulty guide addresses.
Applications are accepted year-round, so there is no fixed enrollment window to plan around. For a fuller walkthrough of eligibility, see the RRT-NPS requirements guide, and for scheduling logistics see the exam dates and scheduling article.
Exam Format: 170 Questions, Four Hours, Testing Center Only
The NPS is a closed-book, computer-based, multiple-choice exam administered by PSI. Key logistics:
- Length: 170 questions, of which 150 are scored and 20 are unidentified pretest items. You cannot tell which are which, so treat every question as live.
- Time: four hours. Breaks do not stop the clock.
- Tools: an on-screen calculator is provided. Personal calculators and reference materials are prohibited.
- Assembly: forms are built linear-on-the-fly. The exam is not computer-adaptive, so your performance does not change the difficulty of upcoming items.
- Location: testing-center delivery only. The NBRC discontinued live remote proctoring after December 31, 2024, and has required PSI testing-center delivery since January 1, 2025. Any source still describing remote testing for the NPS is out of date.
The practice products on the market use their own question counts and timers. Do not treat those as a substitute for the real 170-question, four-hour experience. Build stamina for the actual length, because pacing across four hours with a running clock during breaks is part of the challenge.
The Two Exam Domains and Their Item Allocations
The current Detailed Content Outline took effect October 1, 2025, and organizes the exam into two domains. The NBRC assigns scored items to each domain but does not print percentages, so beware of sources that publish rounded percentage splits as if they were official. The authoritative figures are the item counts: 80 scored items for Domain 1 and 70 for Domain 2. The complete domains guide goes deeper on each area.
Domain 1: Competencies Shared Between Critical and General Care of Neonatal or Pediatric Patients (80 scored items)
The larger domain covers the skills that apply whether a patient is in a general ward, an emergency setting, or an intensive care unit.
- Patient assessment and pulmonary status evaluation
- Causes of respiratory compromise
- Airway management
- Equipment selection and troubleshooting
- Procedural efficacy and diagnostic result interpretation
- Medication effects and interactions
- Nutrition considerations
- Resuscitation
- Patient-care protocols and interdisciplinary collaboration
- Patient and family education
Domain 2: Competencies Specific to Critical Care of Neonatal or Pediatric Patients (70 scored items)
The smaller domain targets what distinguishes intensive-care practice for this population.
- Pertinent critical-care information
- Specialty gases
- Ventilation and oxygenation
- Procedural efficacy
- Medication administration
- End-of-life care
Across both domains, cases span neonatal and pediatric pulmonary disorders, non-pulmonary disorders, and general care. The outline also uses patient-type minipools, but these are not guaranteed counts for any specific disease on your form. Do not expect, or skip, a particular condition based on a rumored count.
Where the Points Concentrate: Ventilation and Oxygenation
Within Domain 2, ventilation and oxygenation account for 30 scored items. That is one of the heaviest single subsections in the blueprint, and it is where case-based reasoning pays off most. Candidates should be comfortable with scenarios such as:
- Interpreting blood gas results and deciding what ventilator adjustment follows, in neonates and in older children with different physiology
- Choosing between conventional, high-frequency, and noninvasive support strategies for a described patient
- Recognizing when oxygenation problems reflect a ventilation-perfusion issue versus a delivery or equipment issue
- Evaluating whether an intervention worked, which is the "procedural efficacy" lens that recurs throughout both domains
- Selecting and titrating specialty gases appropriately for the clinical scenario
Key Takeaway
Do not memorize ventilator settings in isolation. Practice the full loop: assess the patient, interpret the data, adjust the therapy, then judge whether it worked. The exam rewards that sequence, and 30 items rest on it within Domain 2 alone.
Fees, Discounts, and Retake Rules
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| First application fee | $250 |
| Reapplication fee | $220 |
| AARC member first-attempt discount | $40 one-time discount, giving $210 when eligible; requires the prescribed AARC registration/email-link process and is not applied retroactively |
| Early retake limit | Two initial attempts without the waiting restriction |
| Later attempts | 180 days required between attempts |
The AARC discount is worth understanding before you pay. It is not a general membership perk applied automatically; you must follow the official process, and it cannot be claimed after the fact. For the complete cost picture, including preparation materials and maintenance, see the certification cost breakdown.
The retake structure also shapes strategy. Because the third and later attempts trigger a 180-day gap, it is wise to treat your first two tries as a pair you want to use productively. The official free practice examination and the paid self-assessment from the NBRC are preparation resources, not mandatory qualifying steps, so use them to find weak areas before you pay the application fee.
Pass Rates in Context
The NBRC's 2025 Examinations in Review reports the following for the NPS:
| 2025 Metric | Result |
|---|---|
| New-candidate pass rate | 63.4% |
| Repeat-candidate pass rate | 40.4% |
| Examinations administered | 1,712 |
| Credentials awarded | 961 |
Two cautions apply. First, the 2025 figures span the October 2025 blueprint transition, so they are not exclusively outcomes under the current outline. Second, the cumulative total of 21,002 credentials through the end of 2025 counts historical awards, not the number of therapists currently practicing with the credential.
The gap between new and repeat candidates is instructive: retaking without changing your preparation is a weak strategy. The pass rate analysis explores what the data does and does not show.
Careers, Employers, and the NPS vs. ACCS Question
The credential is most relevant in settings that care for critically ill infants and children: neonatal intensive care units, pediatric intensive care units, children's hospitals, and transport teams that move fragile patients between facilities. Employers in those environments may value or prefer the specialty credential; policies vary by institution, so check postings and ask managers directly. The RRT-NPS jobs article covers where the credential tends to matter.
On compensation, be careful. Search interest in salary is high, but no credential-specific pay premium has been established. General respiratory therapist pay, shift differentials, and employer-specific incentives are different things from a demonstrated certification bump. If you want a framework for weighing the investment, see the salary guide and the ROI analysis.
Choosing Between NPS and ACCS
Both are NBRC specialty examinations that build on the RRT, but they serve different patient populations.
| Factor | NPS (Neonatal/Pediatric) | ACCS (Adult Critical Care) |
|---|---|---|
| Patient population | Neonates and children | Adult critical care patients |
| Typical settings | NICU, PICU, children's hospitals, pediatric transport | Adult ICUs and adult critical-care units |
| Prerequisite | NBRC RRT credential | NBRC RRT credential |
| Best fit | Therapists working or aiming to work with young patients | Therapists working or aiming to work in adult critical care |
The practical advice is to match the credential to where you work or want to work. Physiology, equipment, and clinical judgment differ enough between infants and adults that pursuing the wrong specialty offers little benefit.
Keeping the Credential: Five-Year Maintenance
The credential is valid for five years from the end of the month it was issued. Under the NBRC's Credential Maintenance Program (CMP), you have alternatives for renewal: complete the assessment and continuing education path, retake the highest applicable credential examination in the last year of the term, or earn a new NBRC credential. These are options, not three required tests.
- Assessment-driven CE: your assessment performance sets the CE documentation requirement at 0, 15, or 30 credits.
- Allocation example: for an RT with one specialty, the 30-credit requirement splits into 15 general respiratory and 15 specialty credits, and the 15-credit requirement splits into 7.5 and 7.5. Other credential combinations have different allocations, so check the official chart.
- Annual fees: $25 for payment years before 2027 and $30 from payment year 2027. A five-year term entirely at the higher rate totals $150.
- Exam-based renewal: requires the relevant examination fee instead.
- State licensure: renewal is separate and handled by your state.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Blueprint
Because Domain 1 holds 80 scored items and Domain 2 holds 70, neither domain can be neglected. A blueprint-driven schedule might look like this, adjusted to your own background:
Domain 1 foundations
- Assessment, airway management, and causes of respiratory compromise
- Equipment troubleshooting and diagnostic result interpretation
Domain 1 breadth
- Medication effects, nutrition, resuscitation, and protocols
- Collaboration and patient/family education scenarios
Domain 2 core
- Ventilation and oxygenation case work, the 30-item subsection
- Specialty gases and critical-care information
Domain 2 completion and integration
- Medication administration, procedural efficacy, and end-of-life care
- Timed mixed-domain sets to practice four-hour pacing
Front-loading Domain 1 makes sense because its shared competencies underpin the critical-care reasoning in Domain 2. For a full study framework, see the RRT-NPS study guide and the one-page cheat sheet for last-week review. When you are ready to test yourself under realistic conditions, our RRT-NPS practice tests let you drill by domain and in mixed sets, and you can return to the main practice site to track weak areas over time.
Frequently Asked Questions
The NBRC's admission policy requires the RRT credential and does not specify a minimum period of NICU employment, training hours, or references. Experience still helps considerably with the case-based questions, so factor it into how much preparation time you plan.
No. The NBRC discontinued live remote proctoring after December 31, 2024, and since January 1, 2025 the exam must be taken at a PSI testing center.
The exam has 170 questions, but only 150 are scored. The other 20 are unidentified pretest items, so you should answer every question as though it counts.
The first application costs $250 and a reapplication costs $220. Eligible AARC members can receive a one-time $40 discount on the first application, bringing it to $210, but only through the prescribed AARC process and not retroactively.
You may make two initial attempts without the subsequent-attempt waiting restriction. After that, 180 days must pass between attempts. Because repeat candidates passed at a lower rate in 2025, revise your preparation approach before retesting rather than simply repeating it.
The RRT-NPS rewards candidates who prepare to the actual blueprint: two domains, 150 scored items, and a heavy emphasis on ventilation and oxygenation reasoning. Anchor your plan to the NBRC's official outline, use the free resources it provides, and practice under timed conditions that mirror the real four-hour experience.